We've launched a new support center at help.smartling.com. This site will continue to be maintained into January 2017. Please update your bookmarks.
Follow

Exclude or Delete Strings

Smartling allows you to exclude content from translation, so it is published in its original form. In GDN projects, you can also delete a string, outright. Below are the differences between these two actions:

 

Exclude from Translation

Delete

What project type does it apply to?

The Exclude function can be used for all project types: Global Delivery Network and Files.

The Delete function is only applicable to Global Delivery Network projects. For a files project you would need to delete your string in the source file itself, before you upload it.

What happens to the string during the translation process?

The string is removed from the translation process entirely and never displayed to your Translation Resource team. It is also removed from any translation jobs it was part of.

The string is removed from the translation process entirely and never displayed to your Translation Resource team.

What happens to the string at publication?

Once your content is ready to be published the string is published in it’s original form.

Deleted strings will not be translated, so the original strings will be displayed to visitors on your translated site.

How do you re-authorize the string?

To re-authorize a string, go to Translations > Excluded. First Select the strings you want re-authorized and then use the authorize function in the Actions menu.

To resurface a deleted string in your authorization queue you’ll need to re-crawl it, then go back to the Smartling dashboard to authorize it for translation.

When to use each

Exclude should be used for text you never intend to translate and always want to display in it's original form. Deleting a string in a GDN project is mainly useful for strings that should not have been captured at all. Note that the next time the page is served, a deleted string will simply be captured again. For a long-term solution, you will need to apply a Do Not Translate rule to your site to prevent the unwanted strings from being captured again.

Note: Excluding should not be used to manage poor translations. Excluding a string with a translation causes the original source string to be used in translated files and websites but it does not delete any translations that have been entered.

If you re-authorize a string that has previously been excluded, it will be restored to the workflow step it was in before it was excluded and with any translations intact. This may cause unwanted translations to reappear in your published content.

To manage translation errors, use the return or move actions to return the string to a previous workflow step and edit the translation.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk